Books to read if you love Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series

If you can’t get enough of Lee Child’s gripping Jack Reacher series, discover the best books like Jack Reacher and authors similar to Lee Child. 

15/01/2021
1 minutes to read
Man walking along a New York street at night, taken from the cover of Andrew Grant's EVEN.

Lee Child’s ex-military policeman Jack Reacher has been solving mysteries and thrilling readers for over twenty years, with the ninth and eighteenth novels being adapted into two blockbusting films starring Tom Cruise as the titular character. In 2020, it was announced that Lee’s brother Andrew, author of the David Trevellyan series, would be taking over writing the Jack Reacher books. Here, discover the first book in Andrew Grant’s David Trevellyan series, as well as more books like Jack Reacher and authors similar to Lee Child. 

For more explosive reads, don’t miss the best thrillers of 2021.

Discover our edit of the best crime fiction books of all time. 

Books similar to Lee' Child's Jack Reacher books

Even

by Andrew Grant

Book cover for Even

This pulse-racing spy thriller by Andrew Grant, Lee Child’s brother and now co-author of the Jack Reacher novels as Andrew Child, sees David Trevellyan, ex-Royal Navy Intelligence operative, fight for his life after he’s framed for murder. As he investigates who may have set him up, Trevellyan discovers a huge international conspiracy which goes straight to the heart of power in the US. 

Discover the second book in the series, Die Twice

Black 13

by Adam Hamdy

Book cover for Black 13

If you’re looking for authors similar to Lee Child, don’t miss Adam Hamdy’s explosive debut thriller Black 13. Black 13 is the first spy thriller in the exhilarating Scott Pearce series. Radical extremists are rising and governments, the military and intelligence agencies are outmanoeuvred, borders are breaking down and the people in power are puppets. In this new world, one man will make a difference. That man is former MI6 agent-in-exile, Scott Pearce.

Capture or Kill

by Tom Marcus

Book cover for Capture or Kill

Capture or Kill is the thrilling first novel in the Matt Logan series from former MI5 operative Tom Marcus. Matt Logan and his team are working to bring down two brothers who are orchestrating a major terrorist attack, but Logan is frustrated by the rules they’re forced to play by. When he’s offered the chance to join a new operation, ‘Blindeye’, it seems like his dreams have come true . . .

Raven Black

by Ann Cleeves

Book cover for Raven Black

Raven Black is the first novel in Ann Cleeves’ crime fiction series Shetland, which is now a hit TV series on BBC One starring Douglas Henshall as Detective Inspector Jimmy Perez.

In the first instalment in the series, the strangled body of a teenage girl is discovered by a neighbour on a bitterly cold January morning. The community are quick to suspect loner Magnus Tait, and suspicion and fear soon engulf the small island. Led by Detective Inspector Perez, the police must search out the killer before they strike again.

Discover all of Ann Cleeves' Shetland books in order, here.

Dead Simple

by Peter James

Book cover for Dead Simple

Now a major ITV series, Dead Simple is the first novel in the number one bestselling Roy Grace series from award-winning author, Peter James.

As Detective Superintendent Roy Grace tackles his first major case, it soon becomes clear it is one he will never forget. After what was meant to be a harmless stag-night prank, the groom has disappeared and his friends are dead. With only three days to the wedding, Detective Superintendent Grace is contacted by the man’s distraught fiancée to unearth what happened on that fateful night.

The Roy Grace series has now become a worldwide phenomenon, translated into thirty-seven languages, with the eagerly-awaited seventeenth book, Left You Dead, now available. Praised as 'one of the best British crime authors' by fellow crime writer Lee Child, Peter James's Roy Grace series is not to be missed by those looking for a new detective book series.

See all Peter James' Roy Grace series here.