With the release of Infinity Engine, the end is in sight for Neal Asher's dramatic Transformation trilogy. But never fear, Neal Asher fans - we're looking out for you. We're so thrilled to be able to announce a new deal with Neal Asher, with a brand new trilogy to begin in 2018.


Read on for our full press release about the Rise of the Jain series . . .




Pan Macmillan is delighted to report the acquisition of a new science fiction trilogy by master of the genre, Neal Asher. Editorial Director Bella Pagan has acquired world rights, including audio, to the Rise of the Jain trilogy – which starts with The Soldier. This is an epic space opera which will be set in the Polity, the same fictional universe as Asher’s most popular works.

In The Soldier, a hidden corner of space is swarming with lethal alien technology, a danger to all sentient life. It’s guarded by Orlandine and her mission is to ensure it stays contained – at all costs. Living aboard a state-of-the-art weapons station, she watches over technology designed to destroy entire civilizations. However, she’s hatching a plan to obliterate it, removing the threat forever. It was created by the Jain, a long-dead race, and forces are on the move who’ll do anything to unleash their last secrets. Meanwhile, humanity’s galactic territories and the alien Prador Empire watch this sector of space with interest, as neither can allow the other to claim its power. However, things are about to change, the Jain might not be as dead as they seem and interstellar war is never far away.

Neal Asher commented on the new deal:  ‘I’m very glad to be continuing with Macmillan. They've seen me through from nervous neophyte to ever so slightly mad pro.’

Bella Pagan said: ‘Neal is one of our longest-standing SF authors and I’m absolutely thrilled to have more of his high-octane books on our list. Each new book is anticipated by an army of loyal fans, with very good reason, and we just can’t wait to publish these’.

Dubbed a ‘national treasure’ by SFX magazine, Neal Asher has published twenty books with Pan Macmillan over the past seventeen years. Pan Macmillan will be publishing The Soldier, the first in the new trilogy, in spring 2018.

                                                                             *  *  *  *  *
Pan Macmillan is the UK general book publishing arm of the Macmillan Group, which operates in over 70 countries.  Its imprints include Macmillan, Mantle, Pan, Picador, Bluebird, Boxtree, Sidgwick & Jackson, Bello, Tor, Macmillan Children's Books, Campbell Books, Macmillan New Writing and Macmillan Digital Audio. Pan Macmillan was named Publisher of the Year at The Bookseller Industry Awards in May 2015. www.panmacmillan.com


Dark Intelligence Neal Asher
Dark Intelligence

Neal Asher

War Factory Neal Asher
War Factory

Neal Asher

Infinity Engine Neal Asher
Infinity Engine

Neal Asher