Out on 29 September 2022

Leech

Hiron Ennes

See more book details
29 September 2022
9781529073607
352 pages
Synopsis

'Highly recommended. I'll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on' – Tade Thompson, author of Rosewater

'A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!' – Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth

In an isolated chateau, as far north as north goes, the baron’s doctor has died. The Interprovincial Medical Institute sends out a replacement. But when the new physician investigates the cause of death, which appears to be suicide, there's a mystery to solve. It seems the good doctor was hosting a parasite. Yet this should have been impossible, as the man was already possessed. For hundreds of years, the Institute has grown by taking root in young minds and shaping them into doctors, replacing every human practitioner of medicine.

The Institute is here to help humanity, to cure and to cut, to cradle and protect the species. Now it seems they have competition. For in the baron’s icebound castle, already a pit of secrets and lies, the parasite is spreading . . .

These two enemies will make war within the battlefield of the body. Whichever wins, humanity will lose again.

Leech by Hiron Ennes is an atmospheric gothic triumph, perfect for fans of Jeff Vandermeer and Silvia Moreno-Garcia.

A wonderful new entry to Gothic science fiction, impeccably clever and atmospheric. Think Wuthering Heights . . . with worms!

Tamsyn Muir, author of Gideon the Ninth

Leech isn't like anything I've read before. Superb writing, interesting and fresh ideas, skillful execution. Highly recommended. I'll be reading anything Hiron Ennes writes from now on

Tade Thompson

What a unique book! Surprising turns and staggering ideas – all woven together by beautiful writing. This is one to remember

Tim Lebbon