The best Christmas books to read if you love Netflix Christmas movies

Grab a mug of hot chocolate and a mince pie, snuggle up on the sofa in your cosiest Christmas jumper and enjoy these festive romantic fiction books – perfect for fans of Netflix original Christmas movies like Holidate and The Christmas Switch

by Sam Book
18/11/2020
2 minutes to read

The shops are selling sprouts and selection boxes, there's a definite chill in the air, and you've got Mariah Carey on repeat it's official, Christmas is coming! If you're a fan of all things festive, especially Netflix's selection of original Christmas films, read on for our edit of the best books to cosy up with this Christmas. They're guaranteed to get you feeling Christmassy.

For more inspiration, discover our edit of the best fiction books. 

The Twelve Dates of Christmas

by Jenny Bayliss

Book cover for 9781529027075

This warm, funny and relatable romantic Christmas novel is perfect for fans of Netflix's Holidate. The Twelve Dates of Christmas is the story of Kate, who after moving back to her sleepy childhood village signs up to a new dating app which promises you've guessed it twelve festive dates with the area's most eligible bachelors. Find out if Kate finds love and her happily ever after under the mistletoe in this fun Christmas read.

Christmas with the Teashop Girls

by Elaine Everest

Book cover for 9781529015928

Christmas with the Teashop Girls stars Rose Neville and the staff of Lyon's Teashop in Margate as they navigate life at war, along with love, family drama and, for Rose, an upcoming Christmas Eve wedding to her dashing fiancé, Captain Ben Hargreaves. This heartwarming 1940s-set Christmas love story is packed with nostalgia, bravery and hope. 

The Christmas Train

by David Baldacci

Book cover for 9781509821686

Full of magic and mischief, David Baldacci's Christmas novel is perfect for fans of The Christmas Chronicles and Just Another Christmas. It's the story of disillusioned journalist and modern-day Scrooge Tom Langdon, who – after a misunderstanding at the airport – is forced to take the train across the USA to reach his family in time for Christmas Day. With a cast of characters who take Tom on a journey of self-discovery, this novel will win over even the most dedicated Grinch this Christmas. 

Royal

by Danielle Steel

Book cover for 9781509878178

If you're a fan of the A Christmas Prince trilogy, then you'll love Danielle Steele's Royal. The tale of a young princess who is sent away from London to live in Yorkshire during the Second World War, this is a story of love, lost identity and secrets, set in the intriguing world of the English monarchy. 

A Dog's Perfect Christmas

by W. Bruce Cameron

Book cover for 9781529010114

Cosy up by the fire with your furry friend and this feel-good festive read, ideal for fans of Netflix Original A Dogwalker's Christmas Tale. A Dog's Perfect Christmas is the poignant story of a family who open their hearts to new possibilities and meet a very special puppy along the way.

Together by Christmas

by Karen Swan

Book cover for 9781529006100

Crack open the Baileys (and maybe a tin of Celebrations) and settle down on the sofa with this gripping Christmas novel. A page-turner full of Karen Swan's trademark twists and turns, Together by Christmas is a moving Amsterdam-set Christmas story about new beginnings, and what happens when the past you thought you'd left behind reappears in your life. 

A Midwinter Promise

by Lulu Taylor

Book cover for 9781529029659
Read extract

A Midwinter Promise takes you on a journey between Cornwall and London and between the past and the present as you meet Julia, David, Alex and Johnnie and discover the secrets hidden within the walls of their family home. This intriguing Christmas story will have you so gripped you'll forget all about mince pies and wrapping up presents.  

Read extract

Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery

by Jenny Colgan

Book cover for Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery

Jenny Colgan's feel-good fiction is all about the magic of new beginnings, and so this Christmas story set in Cornwall is perfect for fans of 2006 movie The Holiday. Polly is looking forward to baking up a storm at her Little Beach Street Bakery and settling in for her first Christmas with boyfriend Huckle, until a storm threatens to cut off the island's power and ruin everything. With her perfect Christmas at stake, it's up to Polly and the villagers to save the day. 

One Day in December

by Josie Silver

Book cover for One Day in December

Get ready to fall in love with this tale of Christmas romance. When Laurie glimpses a man through a fogged-up bus window she knows he's the one, but she doesn't learn his name until a year later when her best friend Sarah introduces Jack, her new boyfriend. Find out what happens to the trio in One Day in December, a heartwarming story of the unpredictability of life and love packed with Christmas warmth. 

Christmas Under the Stars

by Karen Swan

Book cover for 9781447280163

In the snow-topped mountains of the Canadian Rockies, Meg and Mitch are living their dream, until tragedy strikes in the form of a polar storm. Meg desperately tries to radio for help - and it comes from the most unexpected quarter, a lone voice across the airwaves. A gripping, festive novel from Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas in the Snow.

Christmas at the Cat Cafe

by Melissa Daley

Book cover for 9781509830145

The Costwolds' town of Stourton-on-the-Hill has its very own cat café where resident cat Molly, and her kittens, live in feline paradise, but things can’t always go to plan. More charming cat capers from the author of Molly and the Cat Café.

Sealed with a Christmas Kiss

by Rachael Lucas

Book cover for 9781447277774

Whilst planning a Christmas Eve wedding on the Scottish isle of Auchenmor Kate battles a mismatched bride and groom and a hysterical PR. Escape the stresses of the Christmas season with this warm, funny and light-hearted novella from bestselling author Rachael Lucas.