The best romantic books for Valentine’s Day

From romance novels to collections of love poetry, here's our edit of the best romantic books about love, the perfect Valentine's Day gift for any booklover.

29/01/2021
3 minutes to read
Covers of Pride and Prejudice, Alex and Eliza and Miss you against a pink background

Is your other half or secret crush a book lover? We’ve curated an edit of the best romantic books for Valentine’s Day. From classic romance novels and contemporary love stories to beautiful anthologies of love poetry, these are the most romantic books to fall in love with.

Alexa, what is there to know about love?

by Brian Bilston

Book cover for Alexa, what is there to know about love?

If you’re looking for books about love for the poetry lover in your life, look no further than Brian Bilston’s poetry collection, Alexa, what is there to know about love? Full of poems about love in all its forms, from romantic love to familial love and even love on the internet, this is the perfect, witty gift book for Valentine’s Day. 

Only You

by Kate Eberlen

Book cover for Only You

The perfect feelgood book for Valentine’s Day, Only You will sweep you off to Rome, one of the most romantic cities in the world. When Letty and Alf meet in their Italian class, it's not long before they realise the language that really connects them is dance. They come from different worlds, but one waltz around the Piazza Navona, and everything changes. Both Letty and Alf have secrets though, and as their relationship deepens, it becomes harder and harder to tell the truth . . .

Poems to Fall in Love With

by Chris Riddell

Book cover for Poems to Fall in Love With

An anthology to be treasured, this collection of poems about love has been chosen and illustrated by Chris Riddell. With works from poets including Kate Tempest, E. E. Cummings, Carol Ann Duffy and more, it's a beautifully romantic book to give to someone special this Valentine’s Day. 

The Other Bennet Sister

by Janice Hadlow

Book cover for The Other Bennet Sister

In Jane Austen’s classic romantic novel Pride and Prejudice, Mary is the plain, pious, overlooked middle sister. But in The Other Bennet Sister, Janice Hadlow shines a light on Mary. She’s an introvert in a family of extroverts, a disappointment to her mother and with little in common with her sisters. As she watches her sisters marry, it seems Mary is destined to be single forever. But will Mary find there is hope for her after all? This life-affirming, uplifting story of a woman finding her place in the world is a wonderfully warm and witty homage to Jane Austen.

Love is For Losers

by Wibke Brueggemann

Book cover for Love is For Losers

This laugh-out-loud YA romantic novel is a life-affirming story of love and loss. As far as Phoebe is concerned, love should be avoided at all costs. She’s seen her friend Polly fall head over heels and forget about her friends, become obsessed with sex and talk constantly about the guy in question, and Phoebe definitely isn’t going to make the same mistake. But then she meets Emma . . . 

The Butterfly Room

by Lucinda Riley

Book cover for The Butterfly Room

Lucinda Riley's spellbinding multi-generational romance novel has been nominated for the Romantic Thriller Award at the 2020 Romantic Novel Awards.

Posy Montague is approaching her seventieth birthday and still lives in her beautiful family home, Admiral House, where she enjoyed an idyllic childhood. But the house is crumbling around her, and the time has come to sell it. Then her first love, who broke her heart fifty years ago, comes back into her life. And he is hiding a devastating secret . . .

The Man Who Didn't Call

by Rosie Walsh

Book cover for The Man Who Didn't Call

The million-copy bestselling romantic novel The Man Who Didn't Call is the love story you won't want to miss.

Imagine you meet the man of your dreams, spend a magical week together and fall head over heels in love. You're sure he feels the same, but then he leaves for a long-booked holiday – and never calls. Your friends tell you to forget him, but you're sure something's wrong. And maybe it is. Maybe he found out the truth . . .

Miss You

by Kate Eberlen

Book cover for Miss You

Perfect for fans of One Day, Miss You is the story of Tess and Gus, who are meant to be. They just haven’t met properly yet . . . Both on holiday in Florence, their paths cross for just one day. Over the next sixteen years, life and chance keeps them apart, but will fate eventually bring them together?

Pride and Prejudice

by Jane Austen

Book cover for Pride and Prejudice

Probably Jane Austen’s best-loved and most romantic novel, this witty satirical look at society has a love story at its heart that has been charming readers for over 200 years. Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennett is determined to marry for love, not money, but will she and Mr. Darcy be able to put aside their judgements of each other and realise they are the perfect match?

The Spanish Promise

by Karen Swan

Book cover for The Spanish Promise

This sizzling novel set in sunny Madrid is full of secrets and romance. When one of Spain's richest men leaves his fortune to a woman his family has never heard of, they're shocked and confused. Charlotte Fairfax is recruited to travel to Madrid to investigate, and though it's only a week before her wedding, she's sure she'll have time. But things aren't as straightforward as they seem, and as Charlotte digs into the family's history she discovers a dark secret of two people torn apart by conflict.

Wuthering Heights

by Emily Bronte

Book cover for Wuthering Heights

A dark, haunting tale of passionate and destructive love, Wuthering Heights is one of the great romantic novels of the nineteenth century. Cathy and Heathcliff form an intense bond, but despite their love Cathy marries a rich suitor. But neither can forget the other, and while Cathy becomes increasingly unhappy, Heathcliff is driven by a lust for revenge that will echo through generations.

Call Me By Your Name

by

Book cover for Call Me By Your Name

Call Me By Your Name is a coming of age story and a novel about the power of first love. In 1980s Italy, seventeen year old Elio’s quiet summer is turned upside down with the arrival of his father’s postdoc student Oliver. Aciman writes beautifully and powerfully on love found and lost.

Jane Eyre

by Charlotte Bronte

Book cover for Jane Eyre

When orphan Jane Eyre takes a position as governess at Thornfield Hall, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with the brooding master of the house. An enduring love story and undisputed classic, Jane Eyre is full of passion, mystery, tragedy, and a strong-willed and beloved heroine.

Alex and Eliza

by Melissa de la Cruz

Book cover for Alex and Eliza

This YA romantic novel is based on the story that inspired the acclaimed musical Hamilton. The Schulyers, one of the country’s founding families, are preparing for their grand ball, and Eliza can barely hide her excitement when she hears of the arrival of General George Washington’s right-hand man. When they meet, an epic love story begins.

Our Souls at Night

by Kent Haruf

Book cover for Our Souls at Night

Kent Haruf’s final novel is a beautiful and affecting love story which warms the heart. Addie Moore and Louis Waters have been neighbours for years, now both widowed and living alone. One evening Addie pays Louis a visit, and slowly happiness seeps back into their lives.

The Notebook

by

Book cover for The Notebook

Adapted into the hugely popular film starring Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams, you’d have to have a heart of stone not to shed a tear at the ending of Nicholas Sparks’ first novel. This is one of the most-loved romance novels in recent history and is a love story you won't forget. 


In this special Valentine's Day Book Break, Emma helps you find your perfect book match:

Book Break - Meet your dream book: a Valentines Game