The most romantic books for Valentine’s Day

From literary classics to coming of age love stories, here's our edit of the most romantic books, the perfect Valentine's Day gift for any booklover.

29/01/2020
2 minutes to read

Is your other half or secret crush a book lover? We’ve curated an edit of our favourite romantic books, and you’re sure to find the perfect Valentine’s Day gift for any bookworm. From classic romance novels to contemporary love stories, these are books to fall in love with.

The Butterfly Room

by Lucinda Riley

Book cover for 9781529014969

Lucinda Riley's spellbinding multi-generational story has been nominated for the Romantic Thriller Award at the 2020 Romantic Novel Awards.

Posy Montague is approaching her seventieth birthday and still lives in her beautiful family home, Admiral House, where she enjoyed an idyllic childhood. But the house is crumbling around her, and the time has come to sell it. Then her first love, who broke her heart fifty years ago, comes back into her life. And he is hiding a devastating secret . . .

The Man Who Didn't Call

by Rosie Walsh

Book cover for 9781509828302

The million-copy bestseller The Man Who Didn't Call is the love story you won't want to miss.

Imagine you meet the man of your dreams, spend a magical week together and fall head over heels in love. You're sure he feels the same, but then he leaves for a long-booked holiday – and never calls. Your friends tell you to forget him, but you're sure something's wrong. And maybe it is. Maybe he found out the truth . . .

Miss You

by Kate Eberlen

Book cover for 9781509819959

Perfect for fans of One Day, Miss You is the story of Tess and Gus, who are meant to be. They just haven’t met properly yet . . . Both on holiday in Florence, their paths cross for just one day. Over the next sixteen years, life and chance keeps them apart, but will fate eventually bring them together?

Pride and Prejudice

by Jane Austen

Book cover for 9781909621657

Probably Jane Austen’s best-loved novel, this witty satirical look at society has a love story at its heart that has been charming readers for over 200 years. Feisty heroine Elizabeth Bennett is determined to marry for love, not money, but will she and Mr. Darcy be able to put aside their judgements of each other and realise they are the perfect match?

The Spanish Promise

by Karen Swan

Book cover for 9781529006186

This sizzling novel set in sunny Madrid is full of secrets and romance. When one of Spain's richest men leaves his fortune to a woman his family has never heard of, they're shocked and confused. Charlotte Fairfax is recruited to travel to Madrid to investigate, and though it's only a week before her wedding, she's sure she'll have time. But things aren't as straightforward as they seem, and as Charlotte digs into the family's history she discovers a dark secret of two people torn apart by conflict.

Wuthering Heights

by Emily Bronte

Book cover for 9781509827800

A dark, haunting tale of passionate and destructive love, Wuthering Heights is one of the great novels of the nineteenth century. Cathy and Heathcliff form an intense bond, but despite their love Cathy marries a rich suitor. But neither can forget the other, and while Cathy becomes increasingly unhappy, Heathcliff is driven by a lust for revenge that will echo through generations.

Call Me By Your Name

by Andre Aciman

Book cover for [object Object]

Call Me By Your Name is a coming of age story and a novel about the power of first love. In 1980s Italy, seventeen year old Elio’s quiet summer is turned upside down with the arrival of his father’s postdoc student Oliver. Aciman writes beautifully and powerfully on love found and lost.

Jane Eyre

by Charlotte Bronte

Book cover for 9781509827794

When orphan Jane Eyre takes a position as governess at Thornfield Hall, the last thing she expects is to fall in love with the brooding master of the house. An enduring love story and undisputed classic, Jane Eyre is full of passion, mystery, tragedy, and a strong-willed and beloved heroine.

Alex and Eliza

by Melissa de la Cruz

Book cover for 9781509869978

Alex and Eliza is the love story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schulyer, and is based on the story that inspired the acclaimed musical Hamilton. The Schulyers, one of the country’s founding families, are preparing for their grand ball, and Eliza can barely hide her excitement when she hears of the arrival of General George Washington’s right-hand man. When they meet, an epic love story begins.

Our Souls at Night

by Kent Haruf

Book cover for 9781509854110

Kent Haruf’s final novel is a beautiful and affecting love story which warms the heart. Addie Moore and Louis Waters have been neighbours for years, now both widowed and living alone. One evening Addie pays Louis a visit, and slowly happiness seeps back into their lives.

The Notebook

by Nicholas Sparks

Book cover for [object Object]

Adapted into the much-loved film starring Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams, you’d have to have a heart of stone not to shed a tear at the ending of Nicholas Sparks’ first novel.


In this special Valentine's Day Book Break, Emma helps you find your perfect book match: