What's your wedding style?

Author Karen Swan has written the ultimate guide to a 'Summer at Tiffany's' wedding, meet the three ladies at the heart of the novel via their personal wedding plans...

29/06/2015
4 minutes to read
What's your wedding style.jpg


Author Karen Swan has written the ultimate guide to a 'Summer at Tiffany's' wedding, meet the three ladies at the heart of the novel via their personal wedding plans...

Suzy's Tiffany's wedding: motto: ‘go classic. You'll thank me fifteen years from now.'

  • Colour scheme: ivory and powder pastels - blue, pink, pistachio, primrose, dove.Flowers: clotted cream roses for the bride. Flower arrangements for the marquee should be suspended above the tables, rather than placed upon them.
  • Dress: no bride can go wrong in vera wang. Mousseline ruffles for slender brides; fishtails, corsetry and chiffon sleeves for curvy brides. For extroverted brides, a contrast velvet ribbon at the waist.
  • Tableware: powder blue Thomas Goode bone china.
  • Invitations: blind embossed and tissue-lined. Sent at least eight weeks in advance.
  • Marquee: double-topped with windows and pleated-silk inner lining. The poles are hidden by ribbons which should colour-match the napkins or bridesmaids.
  • Favours: champagne truffles or strawberry bonbons.
  • Wedding breakfast: beef or lobster. Buttermilk bavarois for pudding. Circular tables fanned around top table.
  • Music: harp for the bride's entrance into church, string quartet at the reception, jazz band after dinner.
  • Tiffany trinket: Elsa Perretti crystal bone candlesticks on the tables


Cassie's Tiffanys wedding: motto: ‘relax and savour every moment.'

  • Flowers: the bride should carry long-stemmed maiden's blush roses; exuberant proliferations of meadow wildflowers in the church and crammed into jam jars in the marquee.
  • A vintage wedding dress in silk tulle with a long veil. Open to the idea of pastel-tinted bridal dresses in silk chiffon with delicate ballerina wraps.
  • Tableware: eclectic mix of mismatched antique china.
  • invitations written by hand and sealed with petals, giving a month's notice.
  • marquee: canvas bell tents clustered in a wide circle around a fire pit.
  • favours: big boxes of maltesers.
  • wedding breakfast: hampers of carpaccio and terrines, taken on welsh wool blankets and thrown randomly on the grass.
  • music: organ for the bride's entrance; a friend playing the piano during the reception; henry's playlist on spotify after dinner.
  • Tiffany trinket: solitaire engagement ring.e-pink, sand, duck egg, celadon.


Gem's view: motto: ‘dance barefoot and trash the dress. it's the best party of your life.'

  • Colour scheme: pure white with bold highlights of colour: turquoise, teal, cobalt, dawn peach or sunset orange.
  • Flowers: a daisy chain circlet in place of a tiara; daffodils in the church. Poppies and forget-me-nots still growing in the long grasses in the fields for the reception.
  • Invitations: a photograph of the bride and groom jumping into the sea, shared on instagram the week before.
  • Tableware: paper plates and patterned paper napkins. Ketchup in ramekins.ty, get friends to bring their festival two-man pop ups.
  • Favours: rizlas on the table.and an ice cream van.
  • Music: cat stevens cd for the bride's entrance; the sound of the waves crashing on the shore is all they need for the reception. Trance DJ after dinner.
  • Tiffany trinket: Elsa Perreti open heart necklace worn long on coloured silk cord.

Summer at Tiffany's

by Karen Swan

Book cover for Summer at Tiffany's

Summer at Tiffany's by Karen Swan is the captivating and romantic sequel to Christmas at Tiffany's, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.

A wedding to plan. A wedding to stop. What could go wrong?

Cassie loves Henry. Henry loves Cassie. With a Tiffany ring on her finger, all that Cassie has left to do is plan the wedding. It should be so simple but when Henry pushes for a date, Cassie pulls back.

Henry's wild, young cousin, Gem, has no such hesitations and is racing to the aisle at a sprint, determined to marry in the Cornish church where her parents were wed. But the family is set against it, and Cassie resolves to stop the wedding from going ahead.

When Henry lands an expedition sailing the Pacific for the summer, Cassie decamps to Cornwall, hoping to find the peace of mind she needs to move forwards. But in the dunes and coves of the northern Cornish coast, she soon discovers the past isn't finished with her yet . . .