Books to read if you love Fourth Wing

Fans of romantasy, dragons and action will love these books like Fourth Wing.

Wondering what to read after Fourth Wing and Iron Flame? Look no further. We, alongside some in-house fans, have some suggestions to keep you going until the third volume in the hit BookTok series comes out in 2025. Whether it's the fantasy, romance, trials or dragons that have you hooked, here are some of our favourite books like Fourth Wing.

Ana, Marketing Executive, recommends The Serpent and the Wings of Night

If you particularly loved the trials and adventure elements of Fourth Wing, then this book is for you. Like Violet, Oraya needs to fight her way through the book in order to achieve her goals. And there's enough tension in her and Raihn’s training sessions to rival Violet and Xaden's. . .

The Serpent and the Wings of Night

by Carissa Broadbent

Human or vampire, the rules of survival are the same – never trust, never yield, and always, always, guard your heart. The adopted human daughter of the Nightborn vampire king, Oraya carved her place in a world designed to kill her. Her only chance to become something more than prey is entering the Kejari: a legendary tournament held by the goddess of death herself. But winning won’t be easy against the most vicious warriors from all three vampire houses. To survive, Oraya is forced to make an alliance with a mysterious rival.

It gets better: there's a whole series

Discover Carissa Broadbent's Crowns of Nyaxia series

Read more

Carol-Anne, Pan Macmillan's resident TikToker, thinks you'll like Cross the Line

Any fans of Fourth Wing will know that Violet suffers from a chronic pain condition called Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (EDS). In Cross The Line, the main character Willow suffers from a similar condition, referred to in the book as hypermobility, which affects her on a day to day basis as she travels the F1 circuit. The leap from fantasy to contemporary romance is almost as big as the fall from the parapet into the abyss but if you’re looking for a sweet brother’s best friend spicy romance after the Fourth Wing tension, then this is for you.

Cross the Line

by Simone Soltani

After a social media scandal, Formula 1 driver Dev Anderson is in the middle of a career crisis. He encounters Willow Williams at a Monaco party, the one person who could mend his shattered image, and immediately hires her. However, she's not just any assistant – she's his best friend's sister, and the person Dev has been unable to forget since they shared a kiss. Willow and Dev are determined to keep things strictly professional, regardless of old feelings and the blazing chemistry between them, but in the glittering and high-stakes world of Formula 1, some lines are meant to be crossed.

Ellen, editor of panmacmillan.com, suggests The Sky on Fire

If you've found yourself unexpectedly really into dragons, then the only answer is more dragons. In The Sky on Fire, they rule the sky cities and plot your death, but some of the dragonriders have a certain appeal. . .

The Sky on Fire

by Jenn Lyons

Anahrod has spent her life fighting to stay alive in the jungle of the Deep, and being on her own is what she knows and loves. Rescued by a group of adventurers after she’s captured by a local warlord, Anahrod is denied the chance to return to her solitary existence as the group tasks her with paying off her debt by stealing from the hoard of a dragon who wants her dead. Will Anahrod make it out alive? 

If you like your romantasy spicy, try Fall of Ruin and Wrath

Fall of Ruin and Wrath

by Jennifer L. Armentrout

From the author of From Blood and Ash, Fall of Ruin and Wrath is a scorching romance with high stakes, breathtaking magic and a searing enemies-to-lovers romance. In a post-apocalyptic world ravaged by vengeful gods, nine surviving cities thrive under pleasure-seeking rulers. Calista, possessing infallible intuition, hides as a courtesan. She rescues a prince, triggering warnings of joy and doom. As the prince and her protector vie for power, she navigates rebellion, danger, and desire, torn between intuition's safety and heart's risk. Fall of Ruin and Wrath is a captivating romantic fantasy from a mega bestselling author and global sensation.

If Violet and Xaden's enemies-to-lovers arc is your bag, we recommend One for My Enemy

One For My Enemy

by Olivie Blake

In New York City, two rival witch families fight for the upper hand. The Antonova sisters and their mother, Baba Yaga, are the elusive suppliers of premium intoxicants while the Fedorov brothers and their crime boss father, Koschei the Deathless, dominate the shadows of magical Manhattan. For twelve years, the two families have been in stalemate, but that is about to change. While fate draws together a brother and sister from either side, the siblings still struggle for power, and internal conflicts could destroy each family from within. 

Don't Miss

More from Olivie Blake, author of The Atlas Six

Read more

On the edge of your seat for Violet completing the Gauntlet? Those who love an underdog should try The Sunbearer Trials 

The Sunbearer Trials

by Aiden Thomas

This YA Mexican-inspired fantasy has it all: demigods, an enforced tournament of challenges and high stakes. Teo, a seventeen-year-old Jade semidiós and the trans son of Quetzal, goddess of birds, has never worried about the Trials. . .or rather, he’s only worried for others. But then, for the first time in over a century, Sol chooses a semidiós who isn’t a Gold. In fact, he chooses two: Xio, the thirteen-year-old child of Mala Suerte, god of bad luck, and Teo. Now they must compete in five mysterious trials, against opponents who are both more powerful and better trained, for fame, glory, and their own survival. 

For more magic and complex world-building, try Children of Blood and Bone

Children of Blood and Bone

by Tomi Adeyemi

In this, the first of a YA fantasy series inspired by West African mythology, we enter a world where magic has been suppressed by a fanatical monarchy. Zélie has a chance to bring back magic to her people and avenge the death of her mother. With the help of a rogue princess, she learns to harness her powers and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to come to terms with the strength of her magic – and her growing feelings for an enemy. . .

Don't Miss

Children of Blood and Bone – the story so far

Read more