Secret Santa gift ideas for Armchair Detectives

04 December 2017

By

Looking for a gift for a true-crime addict, a crime fiction lover or an aspiring James Bond? These crime stories, both real and imagined, will make great stocking fillers for armchair detectives this Christmas.

The Fact of a Body

The Fact of a Body

An examination of the criminal justice system in the United States, the nature of crime, and her own experience of abuse, Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich’s The Fact of a Body is a true crime story like no other. One of the Sunday Times books of the year, The Fact of a Body would make a great gift for fans of Serial and Netflix’s The Keepers.

Read extract  

Spy School

Spy School

Know someone who thinks they could be the next James Bond? Challenge them this Christmas with Spy School. Taking inspiration from the former Russian Secret Service’s brain training programme and packed with quizzes, tests and brain hacks, Spy School will give them the chance to prove if they'd make the cut. 

Read extract  

The Seagull

The Seagull

Set in Ann Cleeves' hometown of Whitley Bay, The Seagull is a story of corruption, community and the fragility of family relationships. This is the eighth book in the Vera Stanhope series, and is available in hardback now.

Read extract  

The City & The City

The City & The City

The highly unusual and masterful crime novel by China Mieville is being adapted for the small-screen (and airing on BBC One in 2018) so now is the perfect time to read the novel. The City & The City will make a great stocking filler for those who like their crime writing a little different to the norm.

Read extract  

End Game

End Game

End Game, the latest blockbuster by David Baldacci is available in hardback now. Set between London and the Rocky Mountains, the fifth book in the Will Robie series is Baldacci at his thrilling best.

Read extract  

The Best of Sherlock Holmes

The Best of Sherlock Holmes

Complete with gold gilt edges and Sidney Paget's original illustrations, the Macmillan Collector’s Library edition of the very best of Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories will brighten up any crime-lovers bookshelf this Christmas.

Read extract  

Need You Dead

Need You Dead

The latest book in the million-copy selling Roy Grace series by Peter James, Need You Dead sees the Brighton based detective facing his most mysterious case yet. A great gift for the crime fiction lover in your life, and it's out in paperback now. 

Read extract  

Double Kiss

Double Kiss

The second Soho Nights story by Ronnie O’Sullivan draws on his experiences growing up in the West End, a childhood spent playing snooker in seedy clubs and living amongst London's gangsters in the 1980s. Double Kiss will make a great gift for fans of Roberta Kray and Jessie Keane.

Read extract  

You may also like